Some Fun Stuff at FamilySearch.org

Hi Everyone!

I hope your day is going great. I wanted to tell you about some fun things I have discovered at FamilySearch.org. The FamilySearch.org site is in a constant state of change. Now I know some people get discouraged by that and I understand why. But please understand the great things that are coming will not all happen at once. Line upon line as the good book says.

I am teaching the Temple and Family History Work class in my ward and we are on Lesson #3. I love this class because it is not just lecture it is a hands-on class. There are assignments for each class. I like to do the assignments also so I can see for myself what the class will see. Remember I have been using this site from the very beginning, back before members were allowed to use it, back before it was opened to the world. I would teach my people not to print out anything form the family tree site. The main reason for that was it never worked out very well. So last week’s assignment was to go to Family Tree and print out a Pedigree Chart and a Family Group sheet. I was amazed at what the people at Family Search had done!

Norms Pedigree001The Pedigree charts and Family Group sheets are the best I have ever seen. They are now in PDF format that allows you to write to the form. You can either print it out or save it to your computer. Now there is one thing I noticed The Family Tree data base will only populate the forms with the dead’s information. In other words you will have to fill in any info for the living and you can do this before you print it out! On the Pedigree Chart it showed all work to be done and checks off what has been completed. This is different  then most other printouts which only show what has been completed. I like that because by using colored markers I can easily see what work needs to be completed.

There is also a Fan Chart that you can print out. That is a favorite with many people. My class did a great job and we were able to answer some questions about the site. The best place I found to print out Pedigree and Family Group sheets would be at the person’s own page.  In other words, if I wanted to print out my Pedigree or Family Group charts I would go to FamilySearch.org then click on Family Tree this will open my family tree, then I can find me and click on my name. This will open a window with my information. On the bottom bar of this window you can see Tree an Person. Click on Person. This will take you to the Person’s page, in this case my page. On the right hand side of the page you will find a Box labeled Print. In the box are 4 different options to print. Pedigree, Family, Family with Sources and Fan Chart. From here I can print any one of these options with me as the primary person. If I want to Make a chart with my Grandfather as the primary person I would go to his page and find the Print box.

Well I hope you can see from this simple explanation that we have some very cool new printing options. Go and try these out and let me know what you think? Thanks and Have a great day you deserve it!

Posted in Family History

Leave a Reply

In Archive
